ITAL201 Intermediate Italian, Patrizia Bonucci, Spring 2018

This course is designed for students who have completed two terms of Italian. Students will study the more complex aspects of sentence structure. They will write summaries and compositions in order to improve their writing skills, and will be exposed to contemporary aspects of Italian society and culture by reading newspaper articles, passages from books by Italian authors, and by watching films by young Italian directors.

There will be a mid-term and a final exam, containing both a written part (covering grammar, reading comprehension and writing skills) and an oral part which will involve the presentation of a topic to be agreed upon with the instructor. Each Spring students partake in a conversation exchange with Italian students from the University of Florence.

Textbook

Bacci, Patrizia, Giovanni Zambardino, Un Tuffo nell’Azzurro 2, Panozzo Editore, 2011. 
ISBN: 9788874721603 (Retail price: €18)

Schedule

Week 1

From Monday, January 8 to Friday, January 12

Structures

Review of the past tenses of the indicativo: passato prossimo, imperfetto, trapassato prossimo.

Communicative acts

Telling past events. Describing people and places.

 

 

Week 2

From Monday, January 15 to Friday, January 19

Structures

Review of the simple and compound conditional tenses.

Communicative acts

Expressing desires, giving advice, asking  polite questions.

 

 

Week 3

From Monday, January 22 to Friday, January 26

Structures

The future and the compound future tense.

Communicative acts

Talking about events that will take place in the future.

 

 

Week 4

From Monday, January 29 to Friday, February 2

Structures

Consecutio temporum in the indicative (the agreement  of tenses)

Communicative acts

Telling a story respecting the chronological orders of the events.

 

 

Week 5

From Monday, February 5 to Friday, February 9

Structures

Review of pronouns (direct, indirect and combined); use of ne and ci.

Communicative acts

Avoiding repeating nouns; abbreviating phrases.

 

 

Week 6

From Monday, February 12 to Friday, February 16

Structures

Another past tense: passato remoto.

Communicative acts

Telling a story in the past.

   

Week 7

From Monday, February 19 to Friday, February 23

Review

Review of all lessons.

Midterm

MIDTERM EXAM: Written grammar test and presentation of a topic chosen by the student.

 

 

Week 8

MIDTERM BREAK (February 24-March 4)

   

Week 9

From Monday, March 5 to Friday, March 9

Structures

 Review of the past tenses of the indicative and their agreement.

Communicative acts

Telling past events and stories.

   

Week 10

From Monday, March 12 to Friday, March 16

   

Structures

Relative pronouns.

Communicative acts

Describing specifically.

 

 

Week 11

From Monday, March 19 to Friday, March 23

Structures

The subjunctive mood: present and past; the irregular forms; conjunctions that require the subjunctive.

Communicative acts

Expressing opinions, hopes and doubts.

 

 

Week 12

From Monday, March 26 to Friday, March 30

Structures

The subjunctive mood: imperfect and pluperfect; the irregular forms.

Communicative acts

Expressing uncertainty, possibility, personal feelings.

 

 

Week 13

From Tuesday, April 3 to Friday, April 6
(Monday, April 2: Easter Monday no class, SACI closed)

Structures

The periodo ipotetico.

Communicative acts

Formulating a hypothesis.

 

 

Week 14

From Monday, April 9 to Friday, April 13

Structures

General review of the course.

   

Week 15

From Monday, April 16 to Friday, April 20
EXAMINATION WEEK

 Final Exam

FINAL EXAM: Written test (grammar, reading comprehension and composition)

ORAL PRESENTATION of a topic about Italian culture chosen with the instructor

General Safety & Emergency Instructions

Click here for a pdf of SACI's General Safety & Emergency Instructions.

Share
this page