ITAL201 Intermediate Italian, Deborah Rogai, Spring 2020 | SACI College of Art & Design Florence

ITAL201 Intermediate Italian, Deborah Rogai, Spring 2020

Textbook

In compliance with the Higher Education Opportunity Act Textbook Provision, SACI provides, when possible, the International Standard Book Number (ISBN) and retail price of required and recommended reading. 

Bacci, Patrizia, Giovanni Zambardino, Un tuffo nell’Azzuro 2, Panozzo editore, 2011.
ISBN 9788874721603 (Retail price €18)

Week 1
From Monday, January 13 to Friday, January 17

Structures

Review of the Past tenses of indicative such as: passato prossimo, imperfetto and trapassato prossimo.

   

Communication

Telling past events using these tenses.

Week 2
From Monday, January 20 to Friday, January 24

Structures

Review of simple and compound conditional tenses.

   

Communication

Expressing desires, asking polite questions, formal spoken expression.

Week 3
From Monday, January 27 to Friday, January 31

Structures

Simple and compound future tenses.

   

Communication

Talking about future events and supposition.

Week 4
From Monday, February 3 to Friday, February 7

Structures

Consequtio temporum of indicative tenses.

   

Communication

Talking about past and future events respecting the chronological order.

Week 5
From Monday, February 10 to Friday, February 14

Structures

Review of direct, indirect and compound pronouns.

   

Communication

Telling stories using pronouns replacing nouns.

Week 6
From Monday, February 17 to Friday, February 21

 

General review of the course.

Week 7
From Monday, February 24 to Friday, February 28

 

General review of the course.

MIDTERM EXAM – Written part: Grammar; Oral part: Talking about yourself.

 

Week 8 MIDTERM BREAK (February 29 - March 8)

 

Week 9
From Monday, March 9 to Friday, March 13

Structures

Use of ci and ne.

   

Communication

Abbreviating phrases.

Week 10
From Monday, March 16 to Friday, March 20

Structures

Relative pronouns.

   

Communication

Descriptions using relative pronouns.

Week 11
From Monday, March 23 to Friday, March 27

Structures

Passato remoto.

   

Communication

Telling a story using passato remoto.

Week 12
From Monday, March 30 to Friday, April 3

Structures

 

The subjunctive: present and past, irregular course, conjunctions that require the subjunctive.

     

Communication

 

Expressing doubts, opinions and hopes.

Week 13
From Monday, April 6 to Friday, April 10

Structures

The subjunctive: imperfect and pluperfect and irregular forms.

   

Communication

Expressing possibilities and personal feelings.

Week 14
From Monday, April 13 to Friday, April 17
Monday, April 13: Easter Monday, NO CLASS, SACI closed. Make-up lesson to be planned with the class.

General Review of the course (both grammar and communicative skills)

Week 15
From Monday, April 20 to Friday, April 24
FINAL EXAM
Written part: Grammar and a short composition
Oral part: Conversation with instructor.

 

General Safety & Emergency Instructions

Click here for a pdf of SACI's General Safety & Emergency Instructions.

Share
this page