ID219 Intermediate Interior Design, Daniele Bedini, Spring 2019 | SACI College of Art & Design Florence

ID219 Intermediate Interior Design, Daniele Bedini, Spring 2019

Eco-Sustainable Advanced Branded Shop Interiors

Advanced concepts for eco-sustainable Ferragamo flagship stores.

Site

Urban environments.

Schedule

 

Week 1

Tuesday, January 08
Lecture 01: Introduction and presentation of the course (Interior Design and its multidisciplinary aspects, Ferragamo brand).
Students Introduction to 1st assignment:
A: Site survey in metric system. Evaluate ad-hoc corner dimensions to accommodate multifunctional furniture and areas (from sqm. 50 to 100)
B: Research on Ferragamo brand; its clients profile and critics.
Start work in class.
Homework: Proceed with research.

Thursday, January 10
Lecture 02: Meaning of eco-sustainable interiors and how to apply the concept to commercial spaces. How to draw.
Start Drawing floor plans 1:20 with Tutor, using CAD techniques. 
Homework: Proceed with assignment
Essay: Work on client profile, advanced commercial/galleries sites – research with particular attention to eco-friendly design.

Week 2

Tuesday, January 15
Lecture 03: Defining your style and composing a Concept Board (colors, textures and mood).
5-minute presentation about research.
Continue work in class/ compose Strategy & Concept Board using PC/Power Point or similar.
Homework: Essay: Styles, materials & colors theory in interior design and its effect on your project.

Thursday, January 17 - Field trip
Visit Ferragamo Museum.
Homework:  Proceed with assignment: to specify Strategy and Identity.
Design survey - analyzing 2 different commercial/exhibition spaces.

Week 3

Tuesday, January 22
Draw plan, 1:20 scale and 2 sections/elevations by CAD  - Compose your CONCEPT BOARD using PC and continue preparing assignment for presentation/ INTERIM REVIEW 01
Homework: Proceed with project

Thursday, January 24
INTERIM REVIEW 01: Presentations by Projection of CONCEPT BOARD + plan, class discussion and critiques.
Homework: Proceed with project

Week 4

Tuesday, January 29
Lecture 04: Advanced Concept Stores + how to draw (cont.).
Work in class: Planning the space.
Homework: Continue planning the space starting with sketches and 3D views.

Thursday, January 31
Tutorials/work in class with tutor.
Homework: Proceed with project

Week 5

Tuesday, February 05
Lecture 05: Ergonomy & Templates.
Continue work in class.
Homework: Continue work on project

Thursday, February 07
Continue work in class – drawings and sketching by CAD + Renderings.
Homework
Essay: Form follows function or function follows form, write your personal view on the subject w.r.t. commercial/exhibitions spaces.

Week 6

Tuesday, February 12
Continue work in class.

Thursday, February 14
Tutorials: last review of first part of the project.
Homework: Continue work on project: interior + furniture design.

Week 7

Tuesday, February 19
Tutorials: of first part of the project.
Homework: Finish the last version of the project and prepare the Midterm presentation by computer.

Thursday, February 21
INTERIM REVIEW 02: Presentations and class critiques.
Midterm evaluations, group and personal.

   

Week 8

MIDTERM BREAK (February 23 - March 03)

   

Week 9

Tuesday, March 05
Lecture 06: Tech and Architectural Lighting for stores and residential + start to design interiors.
Work in class on developing final layout, furniture details, also in larger scale if necessary, by computer CAD.
Start 3D Visuals.
Homework: Continue work on project

Thursday, March 07
Presenting Draft 3D virtual model.
Work on Floor plan 1:20 and furniture + draft 4 elevation with all details.
Homework: Continue work on project.

Week 10

Tuesday, March 12
Continue work in class/Fixture selection, legend and distribution.
Homework: Start with lighting project using photoshop + finish the 3D model.

Thursday, March 14
Draft review of project - class critique and discussion.

Week 11

Tuesday, March 19
INTERIM REVIEW 03: Design Development + 3D virtual Model and renders.

Thursday, March 21
Start work on final presentation of final project – using PC/Photoshop and graphic programs.
Continue work on visuals.
Homework: Continue work on project.

Week 12

Tuesday, March 26
Lecture 07: Finishings & Sourcing + Sample Board.
Continue work on project.

Thursday, March 28
Continue work in class on presentation of final project and model.
Homework: Total Design development. Branding evaluation
Finish all drawings and 3D visuals.

Week 13

Tuesday, April 02
Work in class; sample board composition.

Thursday, April 04
Work in class: Selection of drawings.
Last review of final project, class critique and discussion.

Week 14

Tuesday, April 09
Start to finish Final Presentation and exhibition (2 A2 printed boards).
Homework: Proceed with final assignment.

Thursday, April 11
Start to finish Final Presentation.
Homework
: Proceed with project.

Friday, April 12 & Saturday, April 13
Trip to SALONE DEL MOBILE, Milan

Week 15

Tuesday, April 16
Printing presentations for SACI student exhibition.

Thursday, April 18
FINAL PRESENTATION of Ferragamo eco-sustainable Corner.
Group review with guest critique (Guest critique - to be announced).

Grading

Grading is based on attendance, effort, improvement, and demonstration of knowledge gained through the course.

Graduate Students
​Students in MFA, MA, and Post-Bac programs are expected to produce work at a level appropriate for students in a graduate program. They are required to additionally complete an in-depth study on one of the assigned topics by writing a short paper and by making a visual slideshow presentation in class. If they successfully complete all course requirements for graduate students, they will receive graduate-level credit for the course.

General Safety & Emergency Instructions

Click here for a pdf of SACI's General Safety & Emergency instructions.

Share
this page