ARTS(W)301 Beginning Weaving, Patricia Kinsella, Spring 2019 | SACI College of Art & Design Florence

ARTS(W)301 Beginning Weaving, Patricia Kinsella, Spring 2019

Lab fee of €60 covers materials for projects 1, 2, and 3. Students must purchase yarn for project 4, average cost approx. €20 - €50.

Project 1: Beginning Weaving Sampler 
Students will learn:
- The parts of the loom and their function
- Weave drafting and fabric analysis
- How to design and prepare a solid color warp
- How to calculate yarn requirements for warp and weft
- How to thread and warp the loom
- The basic weaves: plain, twill, satin, basket, rep, rib, mock satin
- Hand manipulated techniques: tapestry, ghiordes knot, chaining, twining, inlay, leno, doublecloth, pick and pick color effects
- How to finish the cloth
Due February 6

Project 2: Pattern Weave Scarf 
Students will learn:
- How to design and prepare a multicolor warp
- How to write a warp layout
- How to thread a pointed or rosepath draw
- How to read and weave a pattern draft
- To develop consistent weaving skills
Due March 11

Project 3: Off-Loom Weaving 
Students will learn:
- How to weave 2 and 3 dimensional forms on a simple handmade loom
Due April 17

Project 4: Final Project 
3 meters of fabric, functional or conceptual, based on one of the themes or techniques studied during the semester. Students will present a project proposal with a color sketch, measurements, yarn selection, amount of yarn needed, warp and weft layout, threading plan and weave draft for approval before weaving their fabric.
Project Proposal due March 18
Final project due April 17

Schedule

Week 1

Monday, January 7
Intro di class, Project 1

Wednesday, January 9
Wind the warp thread the loom

Week 2

Monday, January 14
Basic weaves

Wednesday, January 16
Hand manipulated techniques

Week 3

Monday, January 21
Tapestry

Wednesday, January 23
Weave drafting, fabric analysis

Week 4

Monday, January 28
Doublecloth

Wednesday, January 30
Finishing techniques

Week 5

Monday, February 4
Project 1 due, Intro Project 2

Wednesday, February 6
Consultation, Project 2

Week 6

Monday, February 11
Work on Project 2

Wednesday, February 13
Work on Project 2

Week 7

Monday, February 18
Intro Project 3

Wednesday, February 20
Consultation Project 3

 

 

Week 8

MIDTERM BREAK (February 23 - March 3)

 

 

Week 9

Monday, March 4
Work on Project 2 and 3

Wednesday, March 6
Work on Project 2 and 3

Week 10

Monday, March 11
Project 2 due, Intro Project 4

Wednesday, March 13
Consultation, Project 4

Week 11

Monday, March 18
Project 4 proposal due

Wednesday, March 20
Work on Project 4

Week 12

Monday, March 25
Work on Project 4

Wednesday, March 27
Work on Project 4

Week 13

Monday, April 1
Work on Project 4

Wednesday, April 3
Work on Project 4

Week 14

Monday, April 8
Work on Project 4

Wednesday, April 10
Work on Project 4

Week 15

Monday, April 15
Work on Project 4

Wednesday, April 17
Final Critique 
- Projects 3 and 4 due
Bring all completed work to class

 

Grading

Percentage of Grade

Attendance  20%
Project 1      20%
Project 2      20%
Project 3      15%
Project 4      25%

Graduate Students
Students in MFA, MA, and Post-Bac programs are expected to complete additional assignments and to produce work at a level appropriate for students in a graduate program. They are graded accordingly and, if they successfully complete all course requirements for graduate students, receive graduate-level credit for the course.

Share
this page