ARTS(AW)401 Advanced Weaving, Patricia Kinsella, Fall 2017 | SACI College of Art & Design Florence

ARTS(AW)401 Advanced Weaving, Patricia Kinsella, Fall 2017

Lab fee of €60 covers materials for projects 1, 2, and 3. Students must purchase yarn for project 4, average cost approx. €20 - €50.

Project 1: Eight Harness Weaving Sampler 
Students will select one of the following weaves:
- Doublecloth
- Summer and Winter
- Damask
Students will learn:
- Block theory
- Group threading
- How to interpret their design in the chosen weave

Project 2: Eight harness Pattern Weave Scarf 
Students will learn:
- How to design a multi-harness pattern
- Color and weave effect
- How to manipulate multiple warp and weft elements

Project 3: Off-Loom Weaving 
Students will learn:
- How to weave 2 and 3 dimensional forms on a simple handmade loom

Project 4: Final Project 
3 meters of fabric, functional or conceptual, based on one of the themes or techniques studied during the semester. Students will present a project proposal with a color sketch, measurements, yarn selection, amount of yarn needed, warp and weft layout, threading plan and weave draft for approval before weaving their fabric.

Grading

Percentage of Grade

Attendance 20%
Project 1 20%
Project 2 20%
Project 3 15%
Project 4 25%

Graduate Students
Students in MFA, MA, and Post-Bac programs are expected to complete additional assignments and to produce work at a level appropriate for students in a graduate program. They are graded accordingly and, if they successfully complete all course requirements for graduate students, receive graduate-level credit for the course.

Schedule

Week 1

Mon Sept 4
Intro di class, Project 1

Wed Sept 6
Designing with block threading

Week 2

Mon Sept 11
Doublecloth, summer and winter, damask

Wed Sept 13
Weave drafting, fabric analysi

Week 3

Mon Sept 18
Hand manipulated techniques

Wed Sept 20
NO CLASS - make-up lesson TBA

Week 4

Mon Sept 25
Doublecloth

Wed Sept 27
Finishing techniques

Week 5

Mon Oct 2
Project 1 due, Intro, Project 2

Wed Oct 4
Consultation, Project 2

Week 6

Mon Oct 9
Work on Project 2

Wed Oct 11
Consultation Project 2

Week 7

Mon Oct 16
Intro, Project 3

Wed Oct 18
Project 2 due

Week 8

Mon Oct 23
Intro, Project 4

Wed Oct 25
NO CLASS, make-up lesson TBA

 

 

Week 9

MIDTERM BREAK (October 28 - November 5)

 

 

Week 10

Mon Nov 6
Consultation, Project 4

Wed Nov 8
Consultation, Project 4

Week 11

Mon Nov 13
Project 4 proposal due

Wed Nov 15
Work on Project 4

Week 12

Mon Nov 20
Work on Project 4

Wed Nov 22
Work on Project 4

Week 13

Mon Nov 27
Work on Project 4

Wed Nov 29
Work on Project 4

Week 14

Mon Dec 4
Work on Project 4

Wed Dec 6
Work on Project 4

Week 15

Mon Dec 11
Work on Project 4

Wed Dec 13
Final Critique

Bring all work completed in class

Share
this page