ARTC344 Video I, Basilio de San Juan Guerrero, Spring 2020 | SACI College of Art & Design Florence

ARTC344 Video I, Basilio de San Juan Guerrero, Spring 2020

The course is designed to develop both technical and artistic skills using video as a creative imaging tool. During the term, students will have hands-on experience in pre-production, production, and post production. They will learn how to operate a video camera, how to light a subject and how to edit their video shooting on a non-linear editing system. They will also learn how to organize projects creating storyboards and scripts.

The course is divided into two parts: Initial language analysis and assignments to apply the knowledge acquired. The other part is production, which involves: producing, screenplay writing, cinematography, directing, art direction, sound and editing.

Finally, the students will produce a film that is 15 minutes or shorter, that will be screened during the school’s end-of term party. To do so, the students will learn techniques for translating their script into moving images as well as the creative and physical requirements for directing and producing a film.

Graduate Students
​Students in MFA, MA, and Post-Bac programs are expected to complete additional assignments and to produce work at a level appropriate for students in a graduate program. They are graded accordingly and, if they successfully complete all course requirements for graduate students, receive graduate-level credit for the course.

Schedule

Week 1

Tuesday, January 14 and Thursday, January 16
Introduction to the course. Overview of the program including aspects dealing with directing, screenwriting, filming, editing, and sound.
Introduction to the tools used during the course, editing facilities and videocameras.
First assignment: The shooting of a sequence.
Second assignment: The shooting of inserts.

Week 2

Tuesday, January 21 and Thursday, January 23
Introduction to the camera language.
Third assignment: The shooting with different camera angles.
Fourth assignment: The shooting with different lenses.

Week 3

Tuesday, January 28 and Thursday, January 30
Shooting a small movie integrating the new movie language.
Building a set, shooting a scene.
Fifth assignment: Shooting with Multi-cameras.

Week 4

Tuesday, February 4 and Thursday, February 6
Review of the work in progress screening of footage.
Sixth assignment: Shooting a commercial.

Week 5

Tuesday, February 11 and Thursday, February 13
Editing workshop on digital non linear editing system Final Cut Pro.
Editing all previous movies.

Week 6

Tuesday, February 18 and Thursday, February 20
Review of the work in progress, screening of footage.
Seventh assignment: Shooting a music video, editing on rhythm. 

Week 7

Tuesday, October 25 and Thursday, October 27
Screenwriting workshop.
Eighth assignment: The Stop Moyon filmmaking and/or Video Art.
Ninth assignment: Video postcard.

   

Week 8

MIDTERM BREAK (February 29 – March 8)

   

Week 9

Tuesday, March 10 and Thursday, March 12
Preparation and pre-production of the group film.

Week 10

Tuesday, March 17 and Thursday, March 19
Digital HD Camera and lighting workshop.
Writing / Production.

Week 11

Tuesday, March 24 and Thursday, March 26
Production / Shooting.
Discussion on first set of rushes.
Editing.

Week 12

Tuesday, March 31 and Thursday, April 2
Production / shooting.
Discussion on first set of rushes.
Editing.

Week 13

Tuesday, April 7 and Thursday, April 9
Editing and sound mixing.
Production shooting.

Week 14

Tuesday, April 14 and Thursday, April 16
Editing and sound mixing.

Week 15

Tuesday, April 21 and Thursday, April 23
Editing and sound mixing.
Mastering to DVD. Upload to the internet

Friday, April 24 at 7 pm
Showing of videos produced by the class in the Clayton Hubbs Lecture Hall (Palazzo dei Cartelloni) as part of the End-of-Term party.

Note

Students who would like to travel during the term must do so before week 11th of the syllabus. The reason behind this is that the shooting of the main film usually takes place during weekends from Week 11 on or on extra days during the week, depending on the performance of each group. After shooting, students also need to edit the films. 
 

General Safety & Emergency Instructions

Click here for a pdf of SACI's General Safety & Emergency Instructions.

Share
this page