ART605 MFA Graduate Seminar in Communication Design: Studio Co-Requisite II, Michael Reali, Spring 2020 | SACI College of Art & Design Florence

ART605 MFA Graduate Seminar in Communication Design: Studio Co-Requisite II, Michael Reali, Spring 2020

Projects

Students will work on two main projects and smaller contextual activities:
A. Website Redesign
B. Product design

(deliverables for each project are indicated throughout in square brackets)

Schedule

WEEK 1
Tue Jan 14 · 9am-11.45am
Introductions, objectives, course overview;
Lecture: Web design, a complete journey from analysis to handoff
Introduction to Project A: Redesigning the website of a podcasting platform .

Thu Jan 16 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Activity 1: Competition analysis presentation.
Finding interesting ways to compare competitors on tone of voice, visual style, positioning, target audience. [Slides]
Studio time

WEEK 2
Tue, Jan 21 · 9am-11.45am
Activity 2: Visual narrative challenge.
Presenting the idea for an ad campaign. [Poster/Billboard]

Thu, Jan 23 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Studio time

WEEK 3
Tue, Jan 28 · 9am-11.45am
Introduction to Project B: Product design on the concept of short-term memory loss (working title: Introducing yourself to your future self).
(Pr.B) Framing the problem: Initial Analysis

Thu, Jan 30 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Studio time: (Pr.A) Mockups [Online prototype]

WEEK 4
Tue, Feb 4 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Collecting data: Research planning and questionnaire [Online questionnaire]

Thu, Feb 6 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Lecture: Building a pattern library – HTML & CSS for Designers pt. 1

WEEK 5
Tue, Feb 11 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Data analysis and visualization [Poster]

Thu, Feb 13 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Guest Speaker
Lecture: A Data-driven Approach to Design

WEEK 6
Tue, Feb 18 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Finding a solution: Planning the steps;
Product features and Product category

Thu, Feb 20 · 9.30am-12.15pm
(Pr.A)
Pattern library [Online prototype]

WEEK 7
Tue, Feb 25 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Testing and prototyping pt. 1

Thu, Feb 27 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Lecture: Building a pattern library – HTML & CSS for Designers pt. 2

WEEK 8
MIDTERM BREAK
 for undergraduates (February 29 - March 8)

WEEK 9
Tue, Mar 10 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Testing and prototyping pt. 2

Thu, Mar 12 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Lecture: Building a pattern library – HTML & CSS for Designers pt. 3

WEEK 10
Tue, Mar 17 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Visual style and art direction pt. 1 [Slides]

Thu, Mar 19 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Studio time: (Pr.A) Visual assets [Online prototype]

WEEK 11
Tue, Mar 24 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Visual style and art direction pt. 2 [Slides]

Thu, Mar 26 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Studio time: (Pr.A) Documentation [Online document]

WEEK 12
Tue, Mar 31 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Product mockups pt. 1

Thu, Apr 2 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Studio time: (Pr.A) Frontend development pt. 1 [Web paget]

WEEK 13
Tue, Apr 7 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Product mockups pt. 2

Thu, Apr 9 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Studio time: (Pr.A) Frontend development pt. 2 [Web paget]

WEEK 14
Tue, Apr 14 · 9am-11.45am
(Pr.B)
Final summary: Presenting the results [Slides]

Thu, Apr 16 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Studio time: (Pr.A) Frontend development pt. 3 [Web paget]

WEEK 15
Tue, Apr 21 · 9am-11.45am
Work in class on final presentation

Thu, Apr 23 · 9.30am-12.15pm
Final Review

General Safety & Emergency Instructions

Click here for a pdf of SACI's General Safety & Emergency Instructions.

Share
this page